Most motorists in Virginia are aware of the dangers of speeding, especially in the early hours of the morning. However, not many motorists are aware that exceeding the speed limit can lead to serious injury and even death, as well as loss of life.
If you have recently been charged with reckless driving or similar charges, please contact us. A qualified defense lawyer is prepared to defend you against these allegations and will fight to avoid conviction. Class 1 misdemeanor, which under state law constitute the most serious offense. If a driver is convicted of reckless driving, he must be on the driver’s register for at least two years.
State law defines reckless driving as driving in a manner that can result in injury or property damage. Anyone driving more than 20 miles per hour (MPH) over the speed limit in an area must expect to drive at least 35 km / h over the limit. Reckless driving is explicitly defined in Virginia law, and federal law is defined as injuring another person or damaging property, and reckless speeding is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a $1,000 fine.
If the speed limit in the city is 25 km / h, anyone driving 45 km / h or more will face a fine.
Most of the first reckless traffic offences are Class 1 offence, but the same charges are levied on drivers driving on the motorway. If a motorist is driving 80mph regardless of the local speed limit, 80mph or more can lead to ‘reckless driving’. Speed violations combined with reckless driving are a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and / or a six-month prison sentence.
Drivers who submit documents to their employer or educational institution face a fine of up to $1,000 and / or a six-month prison sentence if convicted. If convicted of reckless driving or reckless speeding, drivers face the above-mentioned penalties, as well as a criminal record.
The Virginia code also illustrates the dangers of texting and e-mailing while driving. Driving by text message or e-mail is considered reckless driving, reckless speeding and driving without a vehicle. There is no clear criminal offense separate from reckless driving, but driving while texting can be considered a felony punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and / or a six-month prison sentence. Anyone confronted with such an accusation should immediately call a lawyer in Mecklenburg. An unscrupulous driving lawyer can fight any criminal charges and help you keep your license clean. Anyone confronted with reckless driving should contact an experienced lawyer in Mecklenburg immediately. Find out if you sent a text message or e-mail while driving and notify your driver’s license, insurance company and / or Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.